Free Diving

  • Release 1995
  • Genre Sirios

Music for two Films by George Panoussopoulos


01. Nightmare (Titles) 1:38
02. Free Diving 3:20
03. Olga and Lefteris 2:57
04. The Lost Airplane 1:37
05. Indian Feather 1:02
06. Sea-bottom 1:02
07. Love By Blood 1:47
08. Nine Eighths 3:13
09. Sagittarius 2:42

Written and Orchestrated by Nikos Kypourgos
Based on two themes by Manos Hadjidakis


10. Waiting For The Ship (Titles) 3:44
11. Little Waltz 1:19
12. Letter To Myself 1:37
13. A Game Of Poker 1:17
14. Murder 2:13
15. Summer Waltz 2:48
16. Nocturnal 1:37
17. Honeymoon 1:40
18. The End Of The Journey 2:07

Music Composed, Orchestrated and Conducted by Manos Hadjidakis

Seventeen years have passed since I worked with Manos Hadjidakis as his assistant in composing the music for the first film by Giorgos Panoussopoulos, Honeymoon. Today, on the occasion of another film by the same director, I am again called upon to work with him, only this time he’s not around…
Shortly before he departed, Hadjidakis had promised Panoussopoulos to compose the music for Free Diving. He did not make it. This was a big challenge for me.
So, I “arbitrarily” picked out two themes from Rythmology thinking they were suitable for this particular film. “Arbitrarily” again I intervened by adapting them to the picture. Finally, “arbitrarily” once more, I ventured to bring the two pieces of work together on the same record. I did this knowing that Hadjidakis himself regarded the music for Honeymoon as perhaps the most interesting and accomplished work he did for the cinema.
Despite my “arbitrariness”, or perhaps, precisely because of it, I hope that Manos Hadjidakis would still consider me as an adequate assistant, like he did at the time.
Nikos Kypourgos, February 1995